Beatles For Sale

Beatles For Sale

  1. No Reply

  2. I'm A Loser

  3. Baby's In Black

  4. Rock And Roll Music (Berry)

  5. I'll Follow The Sun

  6. Mr. Moonlight (Johnson)

  7. Kansas City / Hey, Hey, Hey, Hey

  8. Eight Days A Week

  9. Words of Love (Holly)

  10. Honey Don't (Perkins)

  11. Every Little Thing

  12. I Don't Want To Spoil The Party

  13. What You're Doing

  14. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby (Perkins)

All songs composed by Lennon/McCartney unless otherwise specified


With the album A Hard Day's Night having already been in the stores for two months, The Beatles went back into the recording studios to work on another LP (their fourth in 21 months) to keep with the formula of two albums per year with one at Christmas time.

This new album, titled Beatles For Sale, has been generally considered a "weaker" album than the previous Beatles' albums. Through no fault of their own, The Beatles as a group had become worn out from the rigors of touring, concert appearances, all sandwiched in-between time in the recording studio. One look at the cover of Beatles For Sale shows just how much these four young men were paying the price for their phenomonal success.Though John Lennon and Paul McCartney were always writing songs somewhere during their hetic schedules, only 8 original songs were composed , with The Beatles once again having to rely on old stage favorites to fill out the rest of this album.

In the U. S., meanwhile, Capitol records had a plan of their own concerning the American Beatles market. Capitol decided they were going to create more "product" in the U.S. by releasing their own Beatles albums which were completely different than the British albums. With titles like Meet The Beatles!, The Beatles' Second Album, Something New, The Early Beatles, Beatles'65, Beatles VI, and Yesterday..And Today it wouldn't be until 1967 and the release of Sgt. Pepper that Capitol records would release the same identical Beatles albums as the British ones.

During the recording sessions for Beatles For Sale, The Beatles wrote and recorded a single for release titled I Feel Fine b/w She's A Woman. The single was released in the U.K on November 27, 1964, and was another million seller worldwide.

Back to Apple Scruffs Home Page