Anthology (Vol. 2)

The Beatles Anthology

(Volume 2)

Disc One

  1. Real Love* (J.Lennon)

  2. Yes It Is

  3. I'm Down

  4. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away

  5. If You've Got Trouble*

  6. That Means A Lot*

  7. Yesterday

  8. It's Only Love

  9. I Feel Fine (Live)

  10. Ticket To Ride (Live)

  11. Yesterday (Live)

  12. Help! (Live)

  13. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby (Perkins)

  14. Norweigan Wood (This Bird Has Flown)

  15. I'm Looking Through You

  16. 12-Bar Original

  17. Tomorrow Never Knows

  18. Got To Get You Into My Life

  19. And Your Bird Can Sing

  20. Taxman (Harrison)

  21. Eleanor Rigby (strings only)

  22. I'm Only Sleeping (Rehearsal)

  23. I'm Only Sleeping (Take 1)

  24. Rock And Roll Music (Berry)

  25. She's A Woman

Disc Two

  1. Strawberry Fields Forever (demo sequence)

  2. Strawberry Fields Forever (Take 1)

  3. Strawberry Fields Forever (Take 7)

  4. Penny Lane

  5. A Day In The Life

  6. Good Morning, Good Morning

  7. Only A Northern Song (Harrison)

  8. Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite
    (Takes 1 and 2)

  9. Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite
    (Take 7)

  10. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds

  11. Within You, Without You (Harrison)

  12. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise)

  13. You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)

  14. I Am The Walrus

  15. The Fool On The Hill (demo)

  16. Your Mother Should Know

  17. The Fool On The Hill (Take 4)

  18. Hello, Goodbye

  19. Lady Madonna

  20. Across The Universe

All songs composed by Lennon/McCartney unless otherwise specified.


Anthology Volume 2 is pretty much a mirror image of Volume 1 in that it has the other brand new Beatles song Real Love. Real Love was a demo John Lennon had done in the late '70's, and in 1995 the tape was given to Paul, George, and Ringo by Yoko Ono to be made into a finished song. Real Love, like it's predecessor Free As A Bird, suffers from poor sound quality of the demo tape. This was a big job for Jeff Lynne and the other Beatles to work through, but they seemed to have pulled it off as good as can be expected.

Anthology Volume 2 boasts more of the same unreleased music and alternate takes than Volume 1, with Volume 2 dealing with the years 1965-1968. Songs like If You've Got Trouble, which was slated for the Help! album as Ringo's only song; 12 Bar Original, an instrumental recorded during the sessions for Rubber Soul, and That Means A Lot which was also slated for the Help! album but wasn't used. Also on Anthology Volume 2 are different takes of various songs from that period such as Strawberry Fields Forever and I'm Only Sleeping, as well as live appearances.

Back To Apple Scruffs Home Page